Connecting to a Cisco AnyConnect on Ubuntu 16.04

I usually only put in this blog working solutions proved by me, but in this case I did so many things that I can’t recall how I make that VPN working, but from my browser history I can reference to some of the posts that helped me do it. And the last thing that I did to make it work. I promise to update this post when I need to make this process again with the solution but until that I can’t erase it to make the process again (I don’t have the time for it)

So I am going to make the process from the start as I recall it.

Update your packages, and install those, but the last ones have changed for others, well install the suggestions

sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade
sudo apt-get install network-manager-openconnect network-manager-openconnect-gnome lib32z1 lib32ncurses5

Install the Cisco Anyconnect predeploy for ubuntu 64 bits, I have this version installed, for this process just unpack the tar file and go to the folder vpn, then run the vpn_install.sh as sudo

At this moment it can throw the error: “Failed to start vpnagentd.service: Unit vpnagentd.service not found”, to fix it:

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
sudo ./vpnagentd
ps auxw | grep vpnagentd

That last command should display the vpnagentd running, if that is the case run the vpn_install.sh again.

After the installation follow the instruction running the daemon-reload once again and that should be all

If you have a certificate problem:

Go to your /opt/.cisco/certificates and run the following commands

mv ca ca.orig
sudo ln -sf /etc/ssl/certs ca
cd /etc/ssl/certs
sudo ln -s /opt/.cisco/certificates/ca.orig/VeriSignClass3PublicPrimaryCertificationAuthority-G5.pem ./
sudo /etc/init.d/vpnagentd restart

 

anyconnect_2.png

And then you connect to the firewall url with your login and password

References

 

Leave a Reply

