Change Bluetooth name for Ubuntu

I was trying to change the default bluetooth name for my new installation of Ubuntu (it comes with ubuntu-0) pretty ugly and not at all descriptive. So I needed to change it but even though it should be just easy as click on the top bluetooth icon and configuration. But at this moment you can’t so I found a solution that worked for me.

To do that you just need to create a file called machine-info into the /etc directory and set the property PRETTY_HOSTNAME.

Open the new file or edit it if it exists
sudo nano /etc/machine-info

Copy this into the file
PRETTY_HOSTNAME=MYBLUETOOTHNAME

Save it with CTRL + X and Yes.

Now just restart the bluetooth service
sudo service bluetooth restart


I found this at: How to change bluetooth device name?. I just shortened up! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

